The city of Corpus Christi is the 8th largest city in Texas and is home to large motorways humming with traffic. If you have just moved to the city or have purchased a new a vehicle, then you need auto insurance. Discussed below are some essentials of Corpus Christi auto insurance.
Located on the Gulf of Mexico, the city of Corpus Christi is one of the most beautiful places in the South Texas region. If you are a new resident, then there are some key facts about the city that as residents, you should be aware of. The population of the city, according to the 2010 Census Bureau, is over 345,000. Being the 8th largest city in Texas, it has sixty-six percent of its total area made up of water.
Texas auto insurance laws
All laws of the Texas Department of Transportation are applicable in the city; and the same goes for insurance laws too. The state laws of Texas has made it mandatory that every vehicle owner needs to have auto liability coverage (to pay for bodily injury or property damage) to legally operate a motor vehicle on the road. This means that if you have a new vehicle in Corpus Christi, you cannot take it out you have acquired the required auto insurance. Also, proof of car insurance needs to be on your person all the time you are on the road; so that whenever you are requested to show it by a police officer, you can produce the proof readily.
Auto insurance requirements
The minimum coverage required by the state law is called 30/60/25 coverage. The present (modified in 2011) minimum liability limits are $30,000 for one injured person, going up to a total of $60,000 for all injuries per accident, and $25,000 for property damage occurred after an accident. This is the minimum policy and proof of financial responsibility you need to carry with your vehicle in all areas of Texas, so that in the event of an accident proven to be your fault, the cost of damages is paid by your policy.
Getting your car insured is a must because there is a “no tolerance” policy for uninsured drivers. If you are caught without valid auto insurance / proof of responsibility, you can face the following penalties from the city and state authorities:
• First offense get you slapped with a fine of $175 to $350
• Second and more offenses involve fines of $350 to $1,000, your driver’s license being suspended and your vehicle being confiscated.
• If you are involved in a serious accident that leads to grave injuries or death, the you will have to pay a fine of $4,000, jail time of one year (or both)
• If your vehicle gets towed and you do not have the required valid insurance papers, then the car will be seized and will be released only after you show the proof of insurance.
Car accident statistics in Corpus Christi
You should never make the mistake of thinking you will never be in an accident, because risks are everywhere. Here are the figures about incidents on Corpus Christi roads as noted by the Texas Department of Transportation in 2010:
• There were 7,815 reported car accidents
• 5,087 of 7815 accidents caused property damage.
• 2,705 of 7815 accidents resulted in injuries.
• 23 of 7815 accidents resulted in fatalities.
• There were 872 stolen vehicles reported in the city of Corpus Christi
These are reasons enough for you to get proper Corpus Christi auto insurance. There are many ways to save money on your coverage – you can save by comparing quotes online before making a deal.
InTexasAutoInsurance.com is the leading auto insurance comparison website serving all of Texas. Auto insurance quotes from the leading insurers are available at the click of mouse.