If you have a suspended driver’s license in Texas, you must follow the state rules to prevent your driver’s license from being further suspended or being hit with larger fines. A traffic ticket lawyer or a DUI lawyer can help you in getting your driving privileges restored – and often with points not accumulating on your record – and is a worthy investment over long term insurance rate hikes.
After the end of your driver’s license suspension period, you can restore it – in most cases all you’ll need to do is pay the reinstatement fee and give a valid proof of financial responsibility along with an SR22 insurance certificate. This certificate is often required after a suspended driver’s license in Texas.
Below are the 7 most common ways a driver get a suspended driver’s license in Texas.
Driving in Texas
The State of Texas considers driving and operating a motor vehicle as a privilege that belongs to those who drive safely and are on the right side of the law. If residents fail to adhere to safe and lawful driving, their licenses can be revoked. Under what circumstances this happens is discussed below.
If you are a new driver in Texas, or have moved to the state recently, then you need to know that under certain circumstances, you may lose your driver’s license for a specific length of time. The length of suspension is determined by a number of factors including your driving history, and the particular violation(s). So, whether you have violated driving laws or have violated other State laws, your driver’s license can be suspended or revoked.
Here are the main reasons for driver’s license suspensions
1. Driving under the influence: If you have been found guilty of DUI due to alcohol or drugs, your license may be suspended. Depending on the offense (whether first time or repeated), the length of the suspension can be anywhere between 90 days and 2 years.
2. Drug offenses: If you are convicted in a drug offense, even if it was not committed while driving; you will lose your license for 180 days.
3. Excessive traffic violations: If you are a habitual offender and have a number of moving violations, then your license may be suspended. If you get 4 or more traffic tickets in a 12 month period or 7 or more traffic tickets in a 24 month period, then your license is suspended for sure.
4. Driving with a suspended license: If you are caught operating a vehicle with a suspended driver’s license, the length of your current suspension will be increased with an additional lengthy period.
5. Driving without insurance: Driving in Texas without the minimum required liability insurance will lead to your license being suspended. If you are caught or driving without insurance a second time, then your license can be suspended for an even greater length of time.
6. Physical or psychological disqualifications: Physical or Psychological Disqualification- If the DOT re-examination of any person’s fitness reveals them to be physically or psychologically unable to drive safely, their license can be suspended.
7. Driving violations: If you have been involved in an accident proven to be your fault or if you are ticketed for reckless driving, or if your license has been suspended in another state, then your driving license can be suspended in Texas.
There are several other reasons that can lead to a suspended driver’s license and they are not related to driving at all. For instance, if you are declared unfit to drive safely by the Medical Advisory Board, if you do not pay traffic tickets, fines or surcharges and if you refrain from paying child support, then the driving privilege will be taken from you.
The writer is associated with InTexasAutoInsurance.com, the leading insurance comparison website offering options of affordable auto insurance rates to all residents of Texas, including those whose driver’s licenses have been suspended and are in need of an SR22 insurance certificate.